Prone to Wander

Prone to wander, Lord, I feel it,

Prone to leave the God I love;

Here’s my heart, O take and seal it,

Seal it for Thy courts above.

– Come Thou Fount 

Why are we so prone to wandering?  The apostle Paul summed it up when he said, basically, all I wanna do is right, but I find myself doing wrong. (Romans 7:19)

I’m so grateful for the character of our God. I’m so grateful that our wandering is matched by the love of a God who gave His son, knowing we would wander, knowing some would never find their way. I’m so grateful for Jesus. I’m so grateful for a God who, when my heart is far from Him, He is always willing to pursue me. I’m so grateful for this example of limitless, unconditional love. Love without expectations. Without conditions or limits. 

It’s so very much unlike the love we give one another. But deep inside, no matter how far I feel, this matchless love always awakens the little bud in my heart that is just waiting to grow…to grow into love like this….love like that…love that shed blood for me…died for me…Love that came for me…love that found me, even before I knew I was lost. 



 

Leave a Reply

